Detailed Conference Program

Tuesday, 19. September 2017

09:00-10:30 Opening & Award Ceremonies (HS1)

09:00  Opening and Welcome Addresses:

09:30  Karl-Schwarzschild Lecture - Richard Wielebinski:
Cosmic magnetic fields

10:30-11:00 Coffee Break & Poster Session (Foyer Physics)

11:00-12:30 Award Ceremonies (continued) (HS1)

11:00  Ludwig-Biermann Award Talk - Diederik Kruijssen:
The Physics Driving the Molecular Cloud Lifecycle during Galaxy Formation and Evolution

11:30  PhD Prize Talk - Philipp Grete:
Large eddy simulations of compressible magnetohydrodynamic turbulence

11:50  Instrumentation Prize Talk - Albrecht Poglitsch:
"Es gibt nicht Gutes, außer man tut es" - Reflections on progress in astronomical Instrumentation

12:10  Prize Awards
Bruno-H.-Bürgel Prize: Hans-Ulrich Keller
Roelin Prize: Michael Winkhaus
Jugend-forscht Prize: Maximilian Marienhagen, Toni Ringling, and Aaron Wild:

12:30-14:00 Lunch Break

14:00-15:00 Press Conference - Denkschrift Astronomie (A+B+C MPS)

14:00-16:30 Splinter Meetings

Plasma - Space Plasma Processes in Stellar and Planetary Environments (D+E+F MPS)

Populations - Stellar Populations in and around the Milky Way (HS5)

Non-Thermal - Surveying the non-thermal Universe (HS4)

E-Science - E-Science, E-Infrastructures, and Virtual Observatory (Machines of Discovery) (HS2)

Computation - Computational Astrophysics (HS3)

CCAT - CCAT-prime: new submillimeter science opportunities (Auditorium)

16:30-17:00 Coffee Break & Poster Session (Foyer Physics)

17:00-20:00 Mitgliederversammlung der Astronomischen Gesellschaft (Auditorium)